2021 Awards

2021 Crystal Apple Awards

Although the COVID-19 pandemic has changed a great deal about planning events, we are pleased to announce that we will celebrate the 23rd Annual Crystal Apple Awards. However, out of concern for the health and safety of all those involved, we will not be hosting an in-person event to celebrate the 2021 Crystal Apple Awards. Instead (and similar to the 2020 awards), we will recognize this year’s winning teachers virtually by releasing a video compilation from all nine participating school districts. Carrying on this important, twenty-three-year tradition, each winning teacher will receive a $1,000 check, certificate, and glass “crystal apple.” The 2021 Crystal Apple Awards will include nine area school districts: Columbia Burbank, Finley, Kennewick, Kiona-Benton, North Franklin, Othello, Pasco, Prosser, and Richland. Thanks to the generosity of so many, we have recognized 241 teachers throughout our community to date with this prestigious award!

Money to support the awards and gift donations for the honorees are donated by numerous regional businesses, community organizations and individuals. Since its founding in 1999, the Crystal Apple has honored 244 outstanding educators.

2021 Crystal Apple Award Winners

Congratulations to these incredible educators recognized as the 23rd Annual Crystal Apple Award recipients:

Deanne Rada, 6th-7th Grade Math, Columbia Middle School (Columbia School District)

Jennifer Yochum, 7th-12th Ag-Science, River View High School (Finley School District)

Katrina Kutschkau, High School Math, Kamiakin High School (Kennewick School District)

Rick Harding, 9th-12th Grade Resource Room, Kiona-Benton High School (Kiona-Benton School District)

Erin Glossen, 7th-8th Grade History, Olds Junior High School (North Franklin School District)

Karen Magaña, 8th Grade Math, McFarland Middle School (Othello School District)

Jacqueline Brewster, 9th -12th Grade CTE Early Childhood Education, Clothing Design, Financial Algebra, and Teen Parenting, New Horizons High School (Pasco School District)

Connie Hatchel, 6th-12th Grade Instructional Coach, and Dean Smith, 6th-12th Grade History, Highly Capable, and SWAT (Students with an Aptitude for Technology) - Housel Middle School (Prosser School District)

Linda Johnson, ECEAP Preschool Lead Teacher, Early Learning Center ECEAP Preschool (Richland School District)

Portraits of the 10 winning Crystal Apple award teachers

The Crystal Apple Awards are only possible through the support of generous community sponsors. Thanks to the many community leaders and education supporters throughout the Tri-Cities and surrounding communities, we are able to recognize the outstanding teachers making a difference each day in the lives of our students.

2021 Crystal Apple Award Sponsors

Platinum Level Sponsors ($600+)

Bechtel, Evergreen Associates, Gesa Credit Union, Johnson Controls, Pasco Kennewick Rotary, Stevens Clay, STCU, Tri-Cities Sunrise Rotary Club, Washington River Protection Solutions

Bechtel logo  Evergreen Associates logo
Evergreen Associates 
 Gesa credit union logo
Johnson controls logo  Washington river protection solutions logo  Pasco Kennewick rotary logo 
  Rotary international logo
Tri-Cities Sunrise
Rotary Club
Stevens Clay lawyer logo  STCU Credit Union logo


Gold Level Sponsors ($401-$599)

Columbia Basin Health Association, Washington Education Association (WEA), Lampson International, LLC

Columbia Basin Health Association logo   WEA logo  Lampson international logo

Silver Level Sponsors ($201-$400)

MMEC Madsen Mitchell Evenson & Conrad, Moon Security, DA Davidson, Framatome, Yokes Fresh Markets

Bronze Level Sponsors ($1-$201)

Ray Family, LLC, Packaging Corporation of America, Tri-City Regional Chamber of Commerce

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.