2020 Awards

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the traditional in-person celebration of the 2020 Crystal Apple Awards, originally scheduled for March 12, had to be cancelled. In lieu of the ceremony, ESD 123 collaborated with the nine participating school district superintendents to create a special video congratulating the winning teachers.
Watch the video below: 

In addition to their recognition as Crystal Apple Winners (and despite the COVID restrictions), each teacher winner was still able to receive a $1,000 check, a glass “Crystal Apple,” an awards certificate, and other gifts provided by the generous community sponsors who make this award possible.

Mike Miller, president of Moon Security Services, was recognized as the 2020 Special Achievement Award Winner in honor of his dedication and commitment to education and his work on the Pasco citizens committee that works to ensure passage of Pasco School District bonds and levies. He also has volunteered time to many other community services, including the TRIDEC board.

Money to support the awards and gift donations for the honorees are donated by numerous regional businesses, community organizations and individuals. Since its founding in 1999, the Crystal Apple has honored 244 outstanding educators.

2020 Crystal Apple Award Winners

Congratulations to these incredible educators recognized as the 22nd Annual Crystal Apple Award recipients:

Susan Rickords, Columbia Elementary School, Columbia School District
Athena Pelly, Finley Elementary, Finley School District
Chenoa Meagher, Sage Crest Elementary School, Kennewick School District
Donna Baumgartner, Kiona-Benton Middle & High School, Kiona-Benton School District
Lin King, Basin City Elementary School, North Franklin School District
Analy Pruneda, Othello High School, Othello School Disrict
Minerva Espinoza, Mark Twain Elementary School, Pasco School District
Kasey Karthhauser-Blair, Prosser High School, Prosser School District
Brian Neill, Jason Lee Elementary School, Richland School District

Portraits of the 9 winning teachers

The Crystal Apple Awards are only possible through the support of generous community sponsors. Thanks to the many community leaders and education supporters throughout the Tri-Cities and surrounding communities, we are able to recognize the outstanding teachers making a difference each day in the lives of our students.

2020 Crystal Apple Award Sponsors

Platinum Level Sponsors ($600+)

Bechtel, Evergreen Associates, Gesa Credit Union, Johnson Controls, Pasco Kennewick Rotary, Sodexo, Stevens Clay, Tri-Cities Sunrise Rotary Club, Washington River Protection Solutions


Bechtel logo  Evergreen Associates logo
Evergreen Associates 
 Gesa credit union logo
 Sodexo logo  Johnson controls logo
 Washington river protection solutions logo  Pasco Kennewick rotary logo  Rotary international logo
Tri-Cities Sunrise
Rotary Club

 Stevens Clay lawyer logo  STCU Credit Union logo


Gold Level Sponsors ($401-$599)

Columbia Basin Health Association, Community First Bank, Lampson International, LLC


Columbia Basin Health Association logo   Community first bank logo  Lampson international logo


Donation of Gifts to Winners

Chukar Cherries, Tri-City Dust Devils Baseball, Outback Steakhouse, Tri-City Americans Hockey, Adams Enterprises (McDonald's), Roasters Coffee, Tri-Cities Coca Cola Bottling, Broetje Orchards

Chukar cherries logo Dust devils logo Outback steakhouse logo Tri-City americans logoMcDonalds logo Roasters coffee logo

Coca Cola logo Broetje Orchards logo

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.