2023 Crystal Apple Awards

2023 Crystal Apple Awards
Posted on 02/21/2023
This is the image for the news article titled 2023 Crystal Apple Awards

Nine outstanding teachers will be honored during this year’s 25th anniversary of the Crystal Apple Awards. Since 1999, the Crystal Apple Award for Excellence in Education has sought to recognize local educators across the ESD 123 region. The 25th anniversary ceremony begins at 4:30 PM on Thursday, March 9th at ESD 123 in Pasco and is open to the public.

At the March 9th ceremony, each of the nine school district superintendents will speak to the outstanding contributions of their district winners.  Winners are presented with $1,000 checks, beautiful glass “crystal apples,” and other gifts donated by area businesses.  This year’s nine winners bring the total number of awarded teachers to 272 since the awards began in 1999. 

The 2023 Crystal Apple winners are as follows:

  • Tina Larios, Columbia High School, 9th-12th Grade Math (Columbia-Burbank)
  • Ashley Johnson, Finley Middle School, 7th Grade Math and Washington State History
  • Naomi Devers, Kennewick High School, 9th-12th Grade Family Consumer Science
  • Rebecca Turner, Kiona-Benton City Middle School, 6th-8th Grade Resource Room
  • Emily Lopez, Palouse Junction High School, 9th-12th Grade Math, English Language Arts, and Science (North Franklin School District)
  • Thomas Christensen, Othello High School, 9th-12th Grade World Language (Spanish) and Theater Arts
  • Miguel Taboada, Stevens Middle School, 6th-8th Grade English Language Development Math and Science (Pasco)
  • Mackenzie Lopez, Prosser High School, 9th-12th Grade Health Science
  • Lesley Belden, Chief Joseph Middle School, 6th-8th Grade Special Education (Richland)
Photo collage of 9 winning teachers for Crystal Apple Awards
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.