Teaching & Learning

Are you looking for professional development opportunities? Do you wish your teachers had the most up to date information on content area state assessments? Are your teachers prepared with a deep understanding of the Common Core State Standards and Next Generations Science Standards and how to implement them in the classroom?

At ESD 123, our Teaching and Learning Department works to ensure that all students have access to the best education by offering a wide-range of professional learning opportunities for teachers, administrators, and educational support staff, aimed at positively changing classroom practices, eliminating the opportunity gap, and sharing the most up to date information in content area instructional practices. ESD 123 Teaching and Learning supports individual educators, school sites, and districts in meeting the demands of professional learning needs across the region.

Our ESD 123 Content Coordinators help teachers implement the classroom shifts that need to happen. Content Coordinators provide workshops in various content areas including math, science, STEM and literacy. We work to increase teacher leaders throughout our region.

What We Have to Offer:

  • Content Workshops
  • Washington State Learning Standards for ELA and Mathematics
  • Next Generation Science Standards Professional Development
  • Teacher Leadership Workshops
  • Content Coaching / Classroom Demonstrations
  • Inclusion and Differentiation Strategies for Diverse Populations
  • STEM Education (Integrated Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics)
  • Smarter Balanced Assessment System
  • Effective Classroom Assessment

Want to learn more?

Mary Kirby
Educator Growth & Development Coordinator
mkirby@esd123.org
509.544.5757

Lori Scott
Director of Systems & School Improvement
lscott@esd123.org
509.544.5719

MATH:

Brenda Dunn
Regional Mathematics Coordinator
bdunn@esd123.org
509.544.5737

SCIENCE:
Lorianne Donovan-Hermann
Regional Science Coordinator
ldonovan@esd123.org
509.544.5738

ENGLISH LANGUAGE ARTS:
Lindsey Backus
Regional Literacy Coordinator
lbackus@esd123.org
509.544.5739

EARLY LEARNING:
Jennifer Kelly
P-3 & Migrant Academic Coordinator
jakelly@esd123.org
509.544.5755

LANGUAGE ACQUISITION / GLAD:

Jennifer Cowgill
Language Acquisition Administrator
jcowgill@esd123.org
509.544.5772

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.